Organic and eco-fashion

The most important basics for an ecological closet

What does organic and eco fashion mean?

Through the use of harmful pesticides and excessive water consumption in production, the fashion industry places a considerable burden on our environment and the ecosystems that exist within it. In the following guide, we will therefore show you the advantages of organic fashion and the savings that can be made through these production processes.

Table of contents

  • How are organic and eco fashion defined?
  • Resource savings
  • No harmful chemicals
  • Minimal CO2 emissions

Organic & eco fashion

How are organic and eco fashion defined?

Currently No uniform definition be developed for the so-called "BioMode", since the term "Organic" in contrast to food for the fashion sector not protected is. This means that companies can decide for themselves when to market their clothing as "organic". It is therefore all the more important for organic fashion labels on Pay attention to material specifications, certificates and seals. The term is basically intended to ensure that the materials are largely organically grown. In contrast to conventional cultivation, the organic variant relies on natural processes. Consistently, chemical agents such as pesticides are avoided and renewable energies and raw materials are used, which makes this approach more sustainable. Particularly environmentally friendly makes.

Advantages of ecological clothing

Resource savings

The production process for organic fashion consumes significantly Fewer resources such as electricity and water. For example, garments made from the organic cotton we use require approximately 91% less water used.

Learn more

Advantages of ecological clothing

No harmful chemicals

By avoiding the use of pesticides and other chemical agents along the entire production chain, the Preserving nature and thus the habitat of many animals and the health of employees in production is protected. In addition, the groundwater of the surrounding residents is not contaminated by pesticides and Consumers do not wear chemicals on their skin.

Advantages of ecological clothing

Minimal CO2 emissions

Did you know that the Textile industry caused a total of 2.1 billion tons in 2018? That corresponds to about 4% of global CO2 emissions and makes it clear that the excessive consumption of fast-fashion clothing has a serious influence on our planet has. Organic fashion significantly reduces these CO2 emissions through sustainable production techniques and for this reason alone should be taken into consideration when purchasing new clothing.

What does sustainability mean in the textile industry?

What is Fair Trade clothing?

What makes vegan clothing?

How to care for clothes sustainably

Bio- und Ökomode 

Die wichtigsten Basics für ein ökologischen Kleiderschrank 

Was bedeutet Bio- und Ökomode? 

Durch die Verwendung von schädlichen Pestiziden und einem übermäßigen Wasserverbrauch in der Produktion belastet die Modeindustrie unsere Umwelt und die darin existierenden Ökosysteme erheblich. In dem folgenden Ratgeber zeigen wir dir daher, welche Vorteile ökologische Biomode mit sich bringt und welche Einsparungen durch diese Prozesse in der Produktion entstehen. 

Inhaltsverzeichnis

  • Wie definiert sich Bio- und Ökomode?
  • Ressourceneinsparungen
  • Keine schädlichen Chemikalien
  • Minimaler CO2 Ausstoß

Bio & Ökomode

Wie definiert sich Bio- und Ökomode?

Derzeit kann keine einheitliche Definition für den sogenannten „BioMode“ entwickelt werden, da der Begriff „Bio“ im Gegensatz zu Lebensmitteln für den Modebereich nicht geschützt ist. So können Unternehmen selbst entscheiden, wann sie ihre Kleidung als „Bio“ vermarkten. Deshalb ist es umso wichtiger bei Bio-Modelabels auf Materialangaben, Zertifikate und Siegel zu achten. Der Begriff soll grundsätzlich sicherstellen, dass die Materialien größtenteils aus biologischem Anbau stammen. Im Gegensatz zum konventionellen Anbau setzt die Bio-Variante auf natürliche Prozesse. Konsequenterweise werden chemische Wirkstoffe wie Pestizide vermieden und erneuerbare Energien und Rohstoffe verwendet, was diesen Ansatz besonders umweltschonend macht.

Vorteile ökologischer Kleidung

Ressourceneinsparungen

Der Herstellungsprozess ökologischer Mode verbraucht deutlich weniger Ressourcen wie Strom und Wasser. Beispielsweise werden für Kleidungsstücke aus der von uns verwendeten Bio-Baumwolle ungefähr 91% weniger Wasser verwendet.

Erfahre mehr

Vorteile ökologischer Kleidung

Keine schädlichen Chemikalien

Durch den Verzicht auf Pestizide und andere chemische Mittel entlang der gesamten Herstellungskette wird die Natur und somit der Lebensraum vieler Tiere erhalten und die Gesundheit von Mitarbeitern in der Produktion geschützt. Außerdem wird das Grundwasser der umliegenden Bewohner nicht durch Pestizide verunreinigt und Konsumenten tragen keine Chemie auf der Haut.

Vorteile ökologischer Kleidung

Minimaler CO2 Ausstoß

Wusstest du, dass die Textilindustrie im Jahr 2018 insgesamt 2,1 Milliarden Tonnen verursacht hat? Das entspricht etwa 4% der globalen CO2-Emissionen und lässt deutlich werden, dass der übermäßige Konsum an Fast-Fashion Kleidung einen gravierenden Einfluss auf unseren Planeten hat. Bio-Mode verringert durch nachhaltige Produktionstechniken diesen CO2-Ausstoß signifikant und sollte allein aus diesem Grund, beim Einkauf neuer Kleidung in Betracht gezogen werden.

Was bedeutet Nachhaltigkeit in der Textilindustrie?

Was ist Fair Trade Kleidung?

Was macht vegane Kleidung aus?